Home Memorabilia McLaren Original McLaren 2006 MP4/21 test team steering wheel

Original McLaren 2006 MP4/21 test team steering wheel

SKU: M0883 Categories: , , ,


Original McLaren 2006 MP4/21 test team steering wheel

Adrian Newey led the design team for his final McLaren car in 2006 – the MP4/21 – that was driven by Kimi Raikkonen, Juan Pablo Montoya and Pedro de la Rosa to 3rd place in the constructors championship.
This original carbon fibre steering wheel assembly was used by the test team in 2006 including the “shoot out” at Silverstone between Pedro de la Rosa and Lewis Hamilton for the 2007 race seat alongside Fernando Alonso. Mika Hakkinen also made his last appearance testing a MP4/21 at the end of the 2006 season.
As with all McLaren assemblies, each component is individually marked and this wheel uses some continuation parts such as paddles, switch electronics and spacers from the MP4/17a & MP4/18a cars where the functionality was carried over as the underlying steering wheel design was unchanged from 2002-2008. The inside of the carbon wheel still has all of the original electronics in place as imaged and is ready to use, whilst the boss mount is a MP4/22a design for 2008.
It carries a “No FIA seal” denoting a non-race team item and is presented in its original grey McLaren travel crate with custom foam interior.
A superb opportunity to acquire an original and complete McLaren steering wheel assembly.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Original McLaren 2006 MP4/21 test team steering wheel”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *