Enzo Ferrari – Piloti Che Gente – The Story…


A lifelong Ferrari fan, and editor of a leading Formula One website, ahead of 1997’s 40th anniversary of the team’s founding, the owner of this book, decided that they wanted something special to commemorate the event.

Having obtained a copy of Enzo Ferrari’s Pilote, che gente… (Drivers, what men…) signed by the man himself, from a friend who ran the renowned bookshop at the Autodromo Nazionale Monza, over the years that followed the owner got a number of contemporary drivers to add their signatures.

He obtained Michael Schumacher’s at Fiorano in 1998, just days after he led Eddie Irvine home for a famous 1-2 at Monza, and while almost all of the signatures were obtained personally, two of them were not.

They are the signatures of Michele Alboreto and Gerhard Berger, which were obtained by the legendary John Surtees.

The owner was in the paddock at Monza talking to John, while the two former Ferrari drivers were on a stage doing some promotional work. With no access to the stage the owner cheekily asked John if he would ‘do the honours’ and he did, climbing over a couple of fences in the process of obtaining the signatures.

Of particular interest is the signature of Sebastian Vettel, which was obtained at the Barcelona pre-season test in 2007 when the German was still only a test driver for BMW Williams.

Having followed his career for some years, and aware of his talent, the owner asked Vettel to sign the book, indicating a spot close to his great hero Michael Schumacher, while pointing at Enzo’s signature also.

Grinning, and already showing his English sense of humour, Sebastian pretended to cross out Schumacher’s signature, saying: “I’m better then him!”

This was before the German had even made his F1 race debut.

This book contains 138 signatures, full list below!

Click HERE to buy this fantastic book!

Enzo Ferrari

Ross Brawn (Team Owner – Brawn GP)

Ron Dennis (Team Owner – McLaren International)

Jim Hall (Team Founder – Chapparal)

Norbert Haug (Sporting Director – Mercedes)

Patrick Head (Team Owner – Williams)

Lord Hesketh (Team Founder – Hesketh)

Eddie Jordan (Team Owner – Jordan Grand Prix)

Giancarlo Minardi (Team Owner – Minardi)

Paul Stoddart (Team Owner – Minardi)

Jackie Oliver (Team Owner – Arrows)

Jean Sage (Former Renault team boss)

Peter Sauber (Team Owner – Sauber)

Carroll Shelby (Team Founder – Shelby Cobra)

Louis T Stanley (Boss of BRM)

Jean Stanley (Formerly: Jean Owen – BRM)

Ken Tyrrell (Team Owner – Tyrrell)

Tom Walkinshaw (Team Owner – Arrows)

Rob Walker (Private Entrant – Moss/Siffert)

Michele Alboreto (Winner of 5 GPs – 3 for Ferrari & Le Mans 1996)

Jean Alesi (Winner of 1 GP – Ferrari)

Cliff Allinson (Drove 6 GPs for Ferrari scored 8 pts)

Chris Amon (drove 27 GPs for Ferrari scored 34 pts)

Rene Arnoux (Winner of 7 GPs – 3 for Ferrari)

Richard Attwood (Winner Le Mans 24 hrs 1970)

Luca Badoer

Rubens Barrichello

Derek Bell  (5 Times Winner of Le Mans 24 hrs)

Jean Pierre Beltoise

Gerhard Berger (Winner of 10 GPs – 5 for Ferrari)

Bob Bondurant

Thierry Boutsen (Winner of 3 GPs)

Vittorio Brambilla (Winner of 1 GP) – The Monza Gorilla

Tony Brooks (Winner of 6 GPs – 2 for Ferrari)

Eddie Cheever

David Coulthard

Pedro Diniz

Giancarlo Fisichella

Heinz-Harald Frentzen

Paul Frere

Howden Ganley

Jonny Servoz-Gavin

Peter Gethin (Winner of the 1971 Italian GP)

Bruno Giacomelli

Froilan Gonzalez (Recorded Ferrari’s first ever GP win)

Andy Green (Holder of the World Land Speed Record)

Dan Gurney

Nick Heidfeld

Johnny Herbert

David Hobbs

Nico Hulkenberg

Jacky Ickx

Eddie Irvine

Jean Pierre Jassaud

Stefan Johansson (Drove 31 GPs for Ferrari scoring 49 pts)

Nicolas Kiesa

Heikki Kovalainen

Robert Kubica

Jacques Lafitte (Winner of 6 GPs)

Les Leston

Tonio Liuzzi

Jochen Mass

Felipe Massa

Alan McNish (Winner of Le Mans 1998)

Arturo Merzario (Ferrari Driver & Targa Winner)

Francois Migault

Juan Pablo Montoya (F3000 Champion & CART Champion)

Gianni Morbidelli

Stirling Moss (Winner of 16 GPs & countless other events)

Riccardo Patrese (Winner of 6 GPs)

Henri Pescarolo (4 Times Le Mans Winner)

David Piper

Nelson Piquet Jr

Emmanuele Pirro (5 times Le Mans Winner)

Bobby Rahal (Jaguar Boss & Indy Champion)

Brian Redman

Laurent Redon

Clay Regazzoni (Winner of 5 GPs – 4 for Ferrari)

Carlos Reuteman (Winner of 12 GPs – 7 for Ferrari)

Pedro de la Rosa

Mika Salo

Roy Salvadori (Winner Le Mans 24 hrs 1959)

Ralf Schumacher

Hans Stuck (2 Times Winner of Le Mans 24 hrs)

Marc Surer

Patrick Tambay (Winner of 2 GPs – both for Ferrari)

Jarno Trulli

Nino Vaccarella

Jos Verstappen

John Watson (Winner of 5 GPs)

Mark Webber

Johnathan Williams

Justin Wilson

Reine Wissell

Alexander Wurz

Alassandro Zanardi (CART Champion 1997 & 1998)

Ricardo Zonta

Gary Anderson (Jordan & Stewart)

Nick Wirth

Harvey Postlethwaite (Designed 82 & 83 Champion Ferrari)

Bernie Ecclestone (Mr F1 – The Head of Formula One)

Brian Hart (Founder of Hart Engines)

Tony Rudd

Jabby Crombac

Doug Nye

Nigel Roebuck

Eoin Young

Dave Richards (Former Benetton Team Boss / Prodrive)

Cesare Fiorio (Team Manager at Ferrari for 100th Win)

Jean Todt (Sporting Director of Ferrari, FIA President)

Giorgio Ascanelli (Chief Race Engineer at Ferrari)

Rainer Schlegelmilch

Franco Varisco

Fernando Alonso (World Champion 2005 2006)

Mario Andretti (World Champion 1978)

Jack Brabham (World Champion 1959, 1960 & 1966)

Jenson Button (World Champion 2009)

Emerson Fittipaldi (World Champion 1972 & 1974)

Mika Hakkinen (World Champion 1998)

Lewis Hamilton (World Champion 2008, 2014, 2015 & 2017)

Phil Hill  (World Champion 1961 – Ferrari)

Damon Hill (World Champion 1996)

Alan Jones (World Champion 1980 – Williams)

Niki Lauda (World Champion 1975, 1977 & 1984)

Nigel Mansell (World Champion 1992 – Williams)

Alain Prost (World Champion 1985, 1986, 1989 & 1993)

Kimi Raikkonen (World Champion 2007)

Nico Rosberg (World Champion 2016)

Jody Scheckter (World Champion 1979 – Ferrari)

Michael Schumacher (World Champion 1994, 1995, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003 & 2004)

Jackie Stewart (World Champion 1969, 1971 & 1973)

John Surtees (World Champion 1964 – Ferrari)

Sebastian Vettel (World Champion 2010, 2011, 2012 & 2013)

Jacques Villeneuve (World Champion 1997)

Prof Sid Watkins (Chief Medical Officer for F1)

Lord March

Nick Mason

Luigi Taveri (125cc World Champion 1962, 64 & 66)

A once in a lifetime opportunity to buy this wonderful book containing 138 genuine signatures from the great and the good of the Formula 1 world.

Click HERE to buy this fantastic book!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here